for writers and readers….

The Baileys Prize Shortlist – who the authors are and where they’ve come from…


The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist of six – announced this week –  come from three continents, four countries and five publishers. Here they are (and Granta must be feeling pretty pleased with itself):

  • Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ from Nigeria: Stay With Me (Canongate, a debut novel);

  • Naomi Alderman, from the UK: The Power (Viking, her fourth novel—she won the Orange Prize for New Writers in 2006);

  • Linda Grant, from the UK: The Dark Circle (Virago, her sixth novel —she won the prize in 2000 and was longlisted in 2008);

  • C.E. Morgan, from the United States: The Sport of Kings (4th Estate, her second novel);

  • Gwendoline Riley, from the UK: First Love (Granta, her sixth novel);

  • Madeleine Thein, from Canada: Do Not Say We Have Nothing (Granta, her third novel).

The winner will be announced on June 7 at The Royal Festival Hall, and receive £30,000, but all the writers on the shortlist should see increased sales and win new readers.

The Dark CircleI’m rooting for Linda Grant simply because I love everything I’ve read by her from her family memoir, Remind Me Who I am Again to When I Lived in Modern Times, a novel about Israel in the 1940s. I’m reading Still Here at the moment and immersed in Liverpool, a city in transition.

The Baileys Prize is open to any woman writing anywhere in English. It was created in 1996 “to champion writing by women, and celebrate the incredible pleasure of reading a great book”.


One comment on “The Baileys Prize Shortlist – who the authors are and where they’ve come from…

  1. Kate McClelland
    April 9, 2017

    Reblogged this on Kate McClelland.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


This entry was posted on April 8, 2017 by in News, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .


%d bloggers like this: